UGH

So much for consistency between dyelots in DMC floss. I ran out of floss while stitching. Off I moseyed to the craft store. I recommenced stitching. The next day…

cat pumpkin floss difference

I find it’s easier to notice when the image is smaller. It took the boy a while to discern the difference. He agreed that once seen, it can’t be unseen. I’m tossing it in the naughty pile. If I were to frog, I wouldn’t frog the tail (who cares if a tail is darker?), but if I frog, I fear it could lead to more stitchy misadventures. I’m not in the mood. I have other things to do, and a series of unfortunate events have robbed me of enough stitching time.

Onward.

Happy stitching! 🙂

5 thoughts on “UGH

  1. I’ve had that happen to me a few times. I have more of a who cares attitude than you do and I just left alone. But I know it can be pretty frustrating. Oh well… move down, clean cups. There’s always another project waiting in the line-up..

  2. DMC has never been especially consistent over dye lots, and black and red are, as they are in most things, the worst colors to hope for a match on. That being said, I don’t see a difference in the photo. Before you give up on this, ask yourself if anyone not looking for a difference will see it, or if someone just looking normally at the finished project would have time to notice. Chances are, it’s no to both. I’ve had a few dye lot problems over the years, but I’ve never had anyone say anything about it.

Leave a comment