Going To Market

This week I worked on a new start, Going to Market by Dimensions.

going to market

I love Julia Cairns’ art. I had her calendar two years in a row. I bought this kit many moons ago because it reminds me of the year the husband and I lived in Antigua; our honeymoon busman’s holiday. I want to put it in an Olde Colonial clock when I’m done.  I’m pleased to have completed the little man and his bowl.

2013-06-02 23.41.24

The kit comes with 14-ct Aida. Stitching them one-over-one on 32-ct. linen will make it an ideal size for the clock. I don’t know the name of this linen, but I saw it in my LNS while looking for someone else and I knew it would be perfect for this design. I’d looked at other fabrics, but never quite felt any were “just right” until I saw this one. I love serendipity, don’t you?

This kit has some blended needles, so I’ve been improvising with DMC. The background is charted for mostly blended needle half stitches with three and four strands of floss. I’m considering using one strand for the three-strand symbols and two strands for the four-strand symbols. I”m going to experiment a bit to see whether using two strands over one is too tight. Stitching is full of excitement!!

Now I’m itching for stitching something else, like a small. Poor Pieta! 😉

Happy stitching! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Going To Market

  1. I stitched this for my cousin who spent junior year abroad in Africa! It was waaaaaay before my blog, so no photos. Also, I stitched it with the kit…just shows how long ago that was. I loved how speedy it was to stitch that background!

Leave a Reply

