Challenged to the Limit

This project took FOREVER to complete. I mean years.  I’d never stitched on silk gauze before. That wasn’t too difficult, I don’t think. I can’t be 100% certain, though, because stitching this piece was so much harder than I anticipated.

Ring O' Roses 05.04.12

Ring O’ Roses by Elizabeth R. Anderson, Miniature Embroideries.
Stitched one-over-one on 48-ct. silk gauze with black silk floss, as provided in kit.
Finished with a two-sided mirror as provided in kit.

When I bought it, I assumed it was 40-ct. gauze. You know what happens when you assume, don’t you?

It’s 48-ct.     This was definitely my limit.

Anyway. HARD. Hard to see, harder to frog. I used 3X magnifiying cheaters. It was still hard to see. There are many mistakes. I don’t know how many, but it’s so hard to frog when you can’t see. There’s enough that the image was a little wide to fit perfectly in the mirror that was included in the kit (that I was tricked into buying because it was 50% off). I don’t care. I finished it, and I’m so glad. I would stitch a bit, get confused and stabby, and not pick it up for months on end. Even when I became determined to finish, I put it down for months after completing a mini-goal. This week I persevered and stitched the girls in the center. And now I’m done!!I rewarded myself with chocolate. Because I didn’t have cookies.

Here are the ladies–

Ring O' Roses finished 05.06.12

See? TINY. So, hooray, I did that. But never again. Not 48-ct, no, no, no.

Happy Stitching. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Challenged to the Limit

  1. This totally rocks, Terri! How awesome is that?

    Look on the bright side ~ this is so tiny no one could possibly see your mistakes, right?

    Congratulations on a darling finish!

  2. It’s beautiful!
    I am glad to know about 48 count! I have been wondering about trying silk gauze! Now, I know. Try 40 count!

  3. This is simply gorgeous!! I can’t believe that you could see it to complete it, I know I wouldn’t have been able to. Lol.

    Great job!!

    *Note to self: Never, EVER buy 48 count. 🙂

  4. WOW!!!! That is just incredible!!! I cannot even imagine stitching something that small!! Major kudos to you for pushing yourself to finish it!!

  5. I paid a gajillion dollars to take a silk gauze class with Maureen Appleton in 19dickety2 and *threw that effer away* because I had screwed up and couldn’t unstitch nor fudge. You have my sincere admiration and congratulations.

Leave a Reply

