Tulip Bookmarker

I don’t like the word “bookmarker.” I don’t remember when I got Tulip Bookmarker by Sue Hawkins of Needleworks. It was long before she redesigned her website, which is pretty spiffy these days. Oh, wait. I take that back. Not the spiffy website part, but the where I got the pattern part. I remembered browsing for days trying to choose a pattern. Which one? Will I/Won’t I? It was grand fun. I didn’t browse Sue Hawkins’ site, though. I browsed Rose Cottage Needle Arts, which I found when I tried to find a link to a picture of Tulip Bookmarker. <–that exact picture is on Sue Hawkins’ site, but there’s the whole Scribd thing going on over there, and the page I linked to is more direct. It sort of looks like the Rose Cottage site hasn’t been updated in a couple of years, but I could be wrong.

Anyway. I started this project a long time ago. I’m not sure how long it’s languished. I recently decided to decide about my UFOs. I reached a tipping point with my stash. I’ve just got to get these things done, or have done with them. This was the first one. I love the colors. I don’t know why I stopped working on it. I do remember a general dissatisfaction, but I don’t remember exactly why. I didn’t love the way the stitching looked, and I remember a certain amount of pain trying to stitch in-hand with canvas. Don’t try that at home!

I was more than halfway done, so I decided to complete it. After I was done I saw that I’d used the wrong color floss on the red, long-legged cross-stitches on each side of the tulip motif on the bottom, humbug pattern. I also stitched the second row of long-legged x-stitches in a different direction than the first–I started at a different end. ๐Ÿ˜€ย  Whatever. I’m glad to be done. I wasn’t enjoying stitching it when I first re-started. I was regretting my decision to finish it. I gradually changed my mind. And now I’m Superwoman for finishing!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€

Needleworks Tulip Bookmark 04.11

Vitals:
Tulip Bookmarker, a kit by Sue Hawkins of Needleworks. A bookmark with a square fob on one end and a humbug at the other
Stitched with included supplies
Changes: long-legged cross stitches stitched with dark red instead of light red

Next in the stitching queue is another “decide to decide” piece that I’ve decided to complete.

Happy Stitching!

2 thoughts on “Tulip Bookmarker

  1. That’s a very cool piece. Pretty colors and an interesting idea for the two ends. Great stitching and I hope you plan to actually make the bookmark. (I never add the ‘er’).

Leave a Reply

