Lesson Two Complete

I haven’t been able to stop stitching this project. I’m enjoying it so much. I guess I’ll have to for a day or two. I’ve gotten terribly behind in important duties. This part seemed to be about ruffles. The florentine area and the diamond motifs are both ruffly, I think; hence the name I gave the stitches.

I keep asking the husband how he can fail to be captivated by this project. He points to his chess books and asks me if I’m captivated by them. Of course I say no. He claims it’s the same thing. I scoff. I can’t look at a finished chess problem and appreciate its beauty. I’d have to be involved in the entire process, which isn’t going to happen. I don’t expect people to be involved in the stitching process, but they can still appreciate the finished product. Therefore, I win. Why is he not fawning? I don’t get it.

I wanted to label this WIP photo with the stitches’ names. I have no idea why. It’s important to me just now. I apologize if it’s distracting.

The woven point stitch was stitched with two colors. Ms. Spears called it optic mixing, which I found charming. Two of the ruffly diamonds in pattern area B use multiple colors as well, but she only called it color blending.

Happy stitching! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Lesson Two Complete

  1. My chess geek (he’s playing in a tournament this very weekend) can find ways to appreciate my stitching. I’m very enthusiastic about his wins and draws, and appropriately sympathetic about the losses.

  2. I can totally understand why you don’t want to put this piece down. It’s absolutely breathtaking. I’m enjoying your progress and I like that you identified the stitches.

  3. Hi, came across your blog because of poodle ref. Beautiful stitching! Your blog reminds me of my “Stitch & Bitch” days, that was BEF (before eyesight failed) – great fun working on stitchery while gossiping with friends.

    I missed the connection to “Raised by Poodles, Life in the Frou-Frou Wilderness.” Can you enlighten me?

Leave a Reply

