Weekends at the Shores, pts. 7 & 8

Part 7:

The husband’s computer is in the shop.  He keeps asking can he check his email and then playing Spider for hours on end.  I can’t wait to pick it up.  Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya, tomorrow, you’re only a day away!! 😉

Shortly after I finished this ship in a bottle, I “lost” Shores of Hawk Run Hollow–to the husband.  It’s my own fault.  I showed him the completed Block 9 and asked him what it reminded him of.

He said, “Indiana?”  I think it may have been because of the building’s color.  One home we considered buying when we lived in Indiana was a converted barn.  It was cool.  Then again, it could have been the Mail Pouch barns that are still scattered around the countryside.  We lived in the (very small) town where this one is located:


Yeah, I guess I can see it.  I was going for Nova Scotia–
I shoulda kept my mouth shut.  He didn’t pay much attention to Shores before that.  I started stitching the ship in a bottle, and he was transfixed.  He told me he loved the boat.  Well, yeah, I could have guessed you would.  “Is this our Nova Scotia cross-stitch,” he wanted to know.  No, I sorta made this our Nova Scotia cross-stitch:

Nova  Scotia by satellite
I guess we can have two.

Part 8:

Very near to my completing Block 10, he asked me who I was stitching this for.  “Me, I told him, just me.”  I even know where I want to hang it.  Then I get the puppy dog eyes.  “Why?  Do you want it?”  I got an eager nod, complete with a sheepish grin.  *sigh*  OK, I guess you can have it.  So now it’s not mine anymore.  I know he’s going to hang it in the basement.  It’s where most of our Nova Scotia and ship collection is.

Block 10 completed.  I knew he’d like the ship in a bottle because he owns one.  It was a going away present from the staff when we left Nova Scotia.  I got to meet the artist.  He was a dear, elderly man who was unable to continue making the ships due to failing eyesight.  It was a treat to meet him.  That day is a fond memory.

I believe the husband’s cat approves.  You can never be too sure with her.

Happy Stitching!

7 thoughts on “Weekends at the Shores, pts. 7 & 8

  1. It’s looking lovely! I think the cat approves 😉 and I think it’s great that your husband loves it enough to snaffle it, even if it means you won’t see it much! 🙂

  2. I think it looks wonderful. And that so wonderful that your husband loves the piece (although I know you didn’t expect it to end up in the basement). Now you’ve got me wanting to get back to mine.

  3. lol @ “Who is this for?” It’s so great that he likes your work so much, though. At least it’s staying in the homestead.

    Awesome pics; thanks for sharing. 😀

  4. Shores looks fantastic, Terri! How sweet your DH likes it so much. Rick admires my stitching when I show it to him but never really pays much attention to it otherwise.

    • Thanks, Sharon. Jack’s always been fairly supportive of my hobby. I’ll never forget the day he said it wasn’t expensive. hahahaha! 😉

      T

  5. Wow.. you are so lucky to have a hubby who appreciates your work so much. But I’d be cautious about letting the kitty walk on that beautiful piece of stitching!

Leave a Reply

