Jingle! jingle, jingle

So, I finally finish-finished something!  Go, me!  It’s a small and belated accomplishment, but I’m taking it.  I couldn’t decide what to do about the trim–or if I even wanted trim.  I’m slow.  Sue me. 😉

Jingle! biscornu

 

Jingle! biscornu by Just Nan.  It’s from her Over the Top! series.  The model was finished with burgundy ribbon bows at four corners.  I didn’t want to do that, because I didn’t want to be “stuck” with one side being the top.  I wanted to incorporate jingle bells in the embellishments until I realized the only thing that makes this design “jingly” is the name.  Besides, if I was going to use bells, I wanted them to have a nice tone, and any bells that are small enough for my taste are more about decoration than jingling.  So much for that idea.  I thought I’d do a ruched trim.  It’s a small biscornu, and the 4mm ribbon I had seemed too big.  I ordered 2mm ribbon.  That didn’t work to my satisfaction.  I thought the ribbon was too thin.  I needed something “just right.”  I finally decided to crochet the trim with DMC 3689.  I’m not a skilled crocheter, but I actually even remembered how to single crochet!  It was a sign.  It doesn’t show up well in the photos, but the pearly beads are a pale green color.  I think they work; I’m pleased.

Vitals: Jingle! biscornu by Just Nan
Stitched on 28-ct opalescent white linen using recommended DMC fibers and included bead embellishments.  Trimmed with DMC 3689 single crocheted trim and pearly beads.

Jingle! biscornu side view

Jingle! Biscornu, side 1 Jingle! biscornu, side 2

4 thoughts on “Jingle! jingle, jingle

Leave a Reply

