That’s when I started drinking…

I mentioned previously about goofing up when I cut the linen for Peacock Stitching Chair’s scissor keep. The only way to really salvage it was to either re-stitch it or add ‘wings’ in the lining fabric. I should have re-stitched it. It would have saved me time and aggravation. I wish I’d realized it sooner. So, OK, I added the ‘wings’ where the shape of the pattern bent. Had a corner. You know what I mean. I made a triangle out of the linen that should show and added the ‘wings’ where the back of the scissor keep would be:

scissor keep fix first step copy

I scanned this piece instead of photographing it.  The fabric isn’t purple.  It’s a blue and red dupioni silk.  Being the geek I am, I zoomed in and out of the image, watching it change from blue/red to purple over and over again.

Theoretically, it should have been fine. If I’d made the piece big enough, it would have been. I stitched the lining onto the new keep top. When I turned it right-side-out, I thought it might be a little small:

scissor keep too small

I tried to convince myself it would be OK if the scissor keep was a bit narrow, that it would be OK if the back of the scissor keep was white and blue. I started to figure out how to stitch it together. I used a ruler to hold down the stitching to give a clear idea what the piece would look like if I did stitch it together as is:

scissor keep lumpy

I tried to convince myself that it would be cute with a ‘scalloped’ backside. A scissor keep with a big old butt? What to do, what to do? Fold and stitch the scallops down? Re-stitch it? I don’t have time to re-stitch it if I’m going to be properly prepared for our summer trip on Tuesday.

That’s when I started to drink.

I’m not sure if I’m going to put the scissor keep on my summer stitching line-up. I don’t think it’s a big deal or failure if I don’t stitch the scissor keep at all. The point of the project is the beautiful chair. Except, I want the scissor keep.*whines, frets* We’ll see.

It’s always something.

5 thoughts on “That’s when I started drinking…

  1. Actually, I always think the fun part is dealing with the mistakes. I take them as a challenge and it looks to me like you did too. I think it will be just fine. You came up with some great alternatives. And it doesn’t look purple on my monitor!

  2. “That’s when I started to drink.” LOL! I know Mona who does finishing for the Silver Needle can undo mistakes that have been made. You could try that. Still won’t fit your timetable, but it will save restitching.

  3. ROFL! I’m sorry, but the title just made me laugh 😉

    How agravating!!!! I’m sorry you ran into problems. If it were me, I’d stitch it again.

Leave a Reply

