All set for next Halloween

I finally finished Pumpkin House as a flat fold, and had a camera to take pictures. Yay!

pumpkin house flatfold 11.08

I didn’t like using some of these fibers.  It took me awhile to understand how they worked.  So, not my best stitching.  The instructions say to use Janice Love’s Hardanger books as a reference for the hardanger stitches, but used different names for the stitches.  Um.  Dumb.  Bad instructions, actually.  I’m bothered that the top left corner is a bit wonky, and I think I’m going to add more orange berries.   I fussed and bit my nails over the embellishments on this piece more than you would think.  I wanted *more,* but every time I added that “more,” I didn’t like it.  In the end, I was tired of it.  I still think it’s missing something, but I’m more glad to put this in the “done” column.

Vitals:
Pumpkin House
Designed by Patricia Andrle for Kreinik.  Stitched with fibers included in kit on 28-ct linen.  I think the color is bittersweet.
Changes: I used 2 Just Nan spider charms instead of stitching the spiders.

7 thoughts on “All set for next Halloween

  1. Terri, it is adorable. I love the embellishments you used. Your colors are exact! I can’t see the wonky-ness from the photo; are you sure it’s “that” bad?

    OMG those charms are perfect!

  2. It’s fabulous! Honestly, when your post appeared on the screen, I thought “what a great finish!” I love the design and the finishing is wonderful, especially the trim and embellishments at the top!

  3. Well, I think your hardanger piece turned out gorgeous. I can imagine the work and frustration that went into it. I would love it, but could never finish it I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

