Progress?

Here’s the tiny bit I stitched yesterday.  Six small hills for six sheepies to graze upon.  Please note the circled bit with giant arrows pointing to it.

I ask you: how long do you suppose it took me to stitch that particular hill?  No, I’m a slow stitcher, remember?  Guess again.  Yeah, you’d think so, wouldn’t you?  I’d expect “not too terribly long, T, fer cryin’ out loud it’s not a lot of stitches,” too.  But if that was your guess, you’re WRONG.  I wasn’t just visited by a frog last night.  No.  Last night, I qualified for this:

You know, I don’t have one particular formula for stitching.  Sometimes I’ll stitch all the same color in an area, sometimes I take the easy most accurate way, and stitch the design according to what’s closest to what I’ve just stitched.  It’s all about following whims.  For instance, in my last wip photo, it appears that I completed each color as I went.  It’s a carefully staged illusion.  I didn’t permit myself to take a wip pic until I completed each color used for Betsy, but it wasn’t stitched in a color-by-color order. 

I wanted to stitch the hills and the tree leaves all at once.  It would have been much easier to stitch each hill one row at a time, or one hill at a time, row by row.  But I wanted to stitch all of the hills first and then the cute little sheep.  I very carefully counted the placement for the middle hill on the right.  I counted more than once (three or four times, to tell the truth) before stitching the hill.  That hill was perfectly placed!  Unfortunately, I used the bottom middle hill to orient the middle right hill instead of the bottom right hill.  I left the misplaced hill in the wrong place to ensure I didn’t screw up again make the same mistake twice.  I was very careful with my counting the second time and was pleased to see that I had stitched the hill in the proper place. 🙂

Now it was time to frog the original, misplaced hill.  I carefully snipped the front.  I turned it around and snipped the back.  I pulled the stitches out.  I pulled of stray fuzz and turned the piece around to check for fuzz on the front.  There was none.  There was also no newly stitched hill!!  I had frogged it, too!  Ahem.  As I said:

I stitched that baby for a third time.  Third time’s the charm and all that, yeah, yeah.  It was so aggravating.  I needed to finish all six hills before I put the piece away for the day, to be sure I didn’t do something like that again before I was done.  I hope, I hope, I hope I’ve put that bit of foolishness behind me, and can finish the piece without pulling out any more hair, or spending too much time sitting in a corner sporting my new hat. 😉

Stop laughing!  I know you’ve done things like that, too.  Confess!

16 thoughts on “Progress?

  1. So sorry to read this post, but I just had your same ordeal the other night, and I stitched the same heart 8 times just for the 3 hearts I needed to have… grrrr.

  2. Oh, Lord. I do that all the time. I even restitch in the exact same wrong place.

    I don’t think I’ve ever frogged the corrected stitches though. You can have the queen of frogging crown!

  3. OK, you caught me. I was definitely laughing, but believe me, I was laughing *with* you, not at you. If I had a correct stitch for every misplaced one that I had to frog, I’d have stitched every pattern in my extensive stash collection by now.

    That’s my story, and I’m “stitching” to it.

  4. Haven’t we just, but it’s so nice to know we are not the only one’s. Must have been the day for it yesterday, I had a stem one linen thread the wrong way, so that had to come out, it grew twice in one day

  5. Been there, done that! I was stitching a piece for the EGA Master Craftsman certificate, and on the first step I was fine until they came to judge the back. I had been visited by the frogs several times, and the back showed it, so I didn’t pass.

    Jane

  6. Only three times…well you got lucky. Instead of a hill mine was a cute sheep that finally became fluffier than the others. The worst thing it was on Betsy Ross fabric…how can you miscount on that?? Glad you finally tackled that hill and can move on…

  7. Hilarious post. And then I did the same thing, sort of, last night – the thread kept knotting in the back in the same place, and I had to go back and frog 3 times to get to that knot to undo it. Ack. Glad you like my sig square – I wanted to show I lived in the mountains, so just made a quick design on graph paper to use every time.

  8. yep I was giggling with you .. I’m sure it was frustrating when you were in the middle of it, but nice to hear some giggles in your writing about it.

    and yes, been there way too many times .. sometimes it amazes me how badly I count, or don’t count.

  9. Oh my gosh, I guess I’m not the only one that does things like that. It olny teaches us patience but really never does it teach us to not do it again because it will happen again(Maybe not to soon)
    But you didn’t give up, Good Job,
    Donna

  10. I will admit that I am laughing, so when I saw your “stop laughing” comment, I completely lost it.

    I’m sorry that little hill gave you so much trouble!

  11. Ahhh, I see that your stitching accomplishments match mine. Gosh, it drives me crazy when I work all day and somehow only get 20 stitches in. It’s like the universe is working against me. 🙂

    Here’s to future days being smoother!

Leave a Reply

