Vintage

My MIL passed away 07-1-08.  We had to double-back to Seattle for her funeral.  Very, very sad.  She was a wonderful woman.  She was nearly 86.  She had been diagnosed with 3rd stage lung cancer ten weeks before her death.  She was determined to be at her granddaughter’s wedding, and determined to die at home.  She accomplished both of these goals, dying just a few minutes before an ambulance arrived to take her to hospital.  We were on an airplane trying to say our final goodbyes, alas.  I’m glad for my son, having his last memory of his grandmother be a good one.  I’m sad for my husband, not getting to her in time. *sigh*

One thing I learned was that she stitched tea towels as a wedding shower gift for each of her grandchildren.  My step-daughters and son are among her remaining unmarried grandchildren.  We received these to pass on to the kids:

These were stitched for my eldest step-daughter.

These are for my other step-daughter.

And these are for my son.

I have no idea when she stitched these.  I’m not sure if you can tell from these images, but there is foxing on the towels she stitched for my step-daughters.  They must have been stitched a long time ago.  My step-daughters are fifteen and sixteen years older than my son.  I think it shows in the condition of the towels.  They must have been stitched when the kids were very young.

I gave her the second piece I ever cross-stitched.  I got it back last week.
birds for Leona 8-91

It’s going to look good in my kitchen, I think.  I may need to have it re-matted, like I did with the picture I stitched for my mother.  We’ll see. 

I wasn’t in much of a mood for stitching while we were gone, and I’m finding it difficult to get back in the swing of things.  I’ve stitched a tiny bit, mostly out of habit.  It will come back when it comes back.

6 thoughts on “Vintage

  1. My goodness T, I am SO sorry to hear this 😦 That must have been so hard to say good-bye that way. ((((HUGS))))

    That is amazing that she did these for the children. What an heirloom they will be. Your children are very lucky 🙂

    That’s nice that the piece you did for her is coming back to you. It will hold a lot of meaning for you.

    No wonder you haven’t been in the mood to stitch. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  2. Terri, I’m so sorry!!! What a neat thing she did with the towel sets; it’s nice for your kids to have something she made especially for them 🙂

  3. My condolences to you and yours, for the loss of your mother-in-law. The pieces are exquisitely done, and I know they will be cherished, treasured, and appreciated beyond words. She did beautiful work.

    The piece you stitched for her is lovely; anyone can see how much you cared for her. I’m sure it was rough to get it back. I am truly sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

