Pretty in Pink

I was never over the moon about Indigo Rose’s Pretty Pink breast cancer awareness biscornu…until I saw a shop model.  OMG, I thought it was to die for! So much smaller, so much cuter, so irresistible IRL!  I started stitching it as a karate project straight away.  And then…buttonhole bars.  A stitch I’d never even heard of before.  I tried to stitch it without a strong light or magnifying lens.  Well, I have clippy magnifying lenses for away-from-home stitching, but no strong light.  That didn’t go well.  I had no idea what I was doing, if I was doing it right.  It took awhile before I was brave enough to try again, this time at home under the daylight lamp.  I guess I was avoiding something else…cutting threads on Desiderata, maybe, you ask?  Yeah.  Probably so. ;o) 

I had a few false starts–three or four, I’m not sure–before I felt like I “got” what was going on.  I did a decent enough job for a fake-it-til-you-make-it attempt.  Actually, my initials and the date are, I think, the wonkiest part of this biscornu.  I did them on the diagonal so they’d be face up when you looked at them.  I’m glad you can’t see them under the tassels, because they’re uneven and unbalanced.  I arranged the biscornu on my table with the initials facing backward to prevent drawing attention to them.  I call the initials and year “vanity plates” b/c I think I’m funny. 

Pretty in Pink biscornu top 05.08

Pretty in Pink stitched.

Pretty in Pink Biscornu 05-08

I painted the pedestal white.  It’s an uneven paint job; I did that on purpose.  I used DMC 818 no.12 perle cotton for the tassels instead of the white perle cotton included in the kit.

Pretty in Pink

Vanity Plates!

Vitals:
Pretty in Pink breast cancer awareness biscornu kit
Designer: Catherine Strickler of Indigo Rose
Substitutions from kit supplies: used DMC 818 no.12 perle cotton for tassels instead of included white, painted pedestal white

7 thoughts on “Pretty in Pink

  1. I love this, and am impressed with your tassels. I also saw them on a flatfold you did. I never wanted to waste DMC on tassels, (gee – it’s all of .30 a skein!) and you said you’re using the perle. It’s thicker, right? I think I’ll give tassels a try now, since I have a good bellpull that needs one. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. What a beautiful biscornu!! I’ve never seen tassles used before, although I am new to the wonder world of biscornu. 🙂

    I really love the vanity plates!!! I had to laugh when I saw them and I think they are a brilliant idea. Now I have to find some, well maybe I should make some biscornu first 🙂

Leave a Reply

