bloggy q & a

These questions are making the rounds, and I’ve decided to play.  But first, you know what?  My LNS is finished framing Magnificent Wizard already!  I can’t wait for the boy to get home from school to go pick it up.  They had to leave a msg, and said, “Your dragon is framed and ready to fly!”  The husband thinks that means the woman leaving the msg loves it.  I hopes so, I really do.  OK, now, down to business.

Why did you start your blog?

I’m not a big journaler.  I’ve tried before, but I usually end up tossing them as clutter.  I thought a digital record of my creativity would have a good chance of taking root.  Plus, I get to chatter on about cross-stitch as much as I want without having to contend with glazed, bemused looks (*What* is it she finds so endlessly fascinating about cross-stitch??).

How did you come up with your blog name?

I thought it was funny!  You can read the story on my “About” page.  My brother was chuffed to be the inspiration for the name.

Do your friends and family know about your blog and if so, what do they think of it?

Yes, they know about it.  One sister finds it amusing that I blog at all.  Noone I know reads it on a regular basis.  My father would ask me, “How’s that dragon coming along?” quite a bit, so I would send him links when I posted progress pics.  Other than that, they don’t pay attention.

How do you write posts?

Sometimes I can’t wait to get to a goal so I can mark the occasion with a post.  Other times I just want to talk stitching. 

Have you ever had a troll or had someone leave unkind comments?

No trolls, but someone did once say something nasty about the subject matter of one of the boy’s pictures–not the picture, but that the show is lame (I think, I don’t exactly remember).  I didn’t approve it.  No one’s said anything unkind about my stitching. 

Do you check your stats?

Yes.   

Do you care how many people read your blog?

I care enough to check my stats, but I don’t go out of my way to increase readers, or feel discouraged if I don’t get X number of hits.  I keep mostly to myself in the blogosphere, so I don’t expect a lot of hits.

What kind of blogs/posts interest you?

I love posts with pictures.  I want to see what you’re stitching!  Any kind of stitching, except knitting.  I do not understand knitted socks, OK?  I like crafty posts of most any kind, and I’m always on the lookout for interesting Star Wars crafts for sp*mming my brother.  I like I can has cheeseburger and boing boing.  I keep up with a few non-stitchy friends blogs, too.

What do you like and dislike about blogging?

I like having a place to talk about my stitching and to share the boy’s drawings.  I dislike the self-imposed feeling of being obligated to post.

And because I like posts with pictures, I give you this:

1724 MH Sampler by Threads of Gold.  It’s on my Goals list.  I’ll get to it.  I’ve been busy! 😀

2 thoughts on “bloggy q & a

  1. I have that Threads of Gold Pattern. I went to buy the Needlepoints silk for it and it cost about $100. Yikes! But maybe when my finger is better, I’d join a SAL.

Leave a Reply

