I <3 the Rocking Horse

The Rocking Horse is my LNS.  It is a *wonderful* store.  The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, service-oriented.  They have so many models, I can’t tell you.  Every wall is covered in models–floor to ceiling.  There is no empty wall space.  The shop has two large front windows, both of which are always filled with seasonally current models.  They are always shifting models around. If you need inspiration, this is the place to find it. 

Skeptical?  The front page has a link to pictures inside the store.  Take a gander.  Models, models, models.  New stuff, classic stuff.  It’s mostly framed pieces, but there are pillows and stockings and fobs, too.  It’s a cross-stitch addict’s visual paradise.   

Still don’t believe in the inspirational power of this store?  Today, I took my son to the store to get Magnificent Wizard framed.  He’s tried cross-stitching a couple of times, but he finds it a tedious craft, and loses interest quickly.  Still, after looking around, he saw a model of a Margaret Sherry pattern that I believe I have in my stash, and asked me to kit it for him and to alter the pattern so it’s a hamster, not a mouse, because after this afternoon he wants to try to stitch again.  After talking with the clerk, he’s decided that if he has the patience to edit a video game, he might have what it takes to stitch.

Such is the power of The Rocking Horse.

4 thoughts on “I <3 the Rocking Horse

  1. Meant to also say: I’ve seen some pics from other people who travel up that way and visit the Rocking Horse… it looks absolutely wonderful!

Leave a Reply

