Desiderata Monday, pt. 37

Almost forgot to post this!

In spite of two parts of John Adams, and the return of The Big Bang Theory (b/c of them?), I didn’t finish this band.  I am loving stitching it, of course.wip-03-17-08-425.jpg

One thing I love about this plaited stitch is its delicate, feathery quality.  It sort of reminds me of a fish skeleton.  Sorry about that.  It does, somehow, in a good way.  It seems to have a different nature when I look at the close up.  It’s like the close up is less delicate, stronger, more substantial.  Maybe b/c you can see the depth in the close up.  I can’t explain it.  I’ll just enjoy it.

wip-03-17-08-close-up-425.jpg

Did I mention I got a new skein of Peacock for this band?  The dyelot my LNS had recently has more variegation than the original skien I had.  My first skein had far more of the deep turquoise and less of the browner tones.  This color is so perfectly named.  I think of the color name, and as I stitch, the colors change, and it’s just right, the colors of a peacock’s feathers.  I really enjoyed it–the stitching, the color name, thinking of a peacock’s feather, the feathery quality of the plaited stitch.  It made me happy.

5 thoughts on “Desiderata Monday, pt. 37

  1. Terri, Beautiful work. I love the stitch, but also the effects the thread makes as it is stitched. I don’t think I will ever stitch this, but am living vicariously thru you!! LOL

Leave a Reply

