The Oprah Made Me Read It

I took this from Monique, who took it from Anna.  I’m sure you’ve seen it on other blogs as well.  It’s a fun meme.  This list is weird, and looks like it was made by a woman that likes to read science fiction/fantasy books, but has a bunch of stuff on her bookshelf that she read b/c someone made her (school) or someone recommended it (Oprah).

But before I do that, I want to ask you, “Why haven’t you read these books?”  I’ll keep the list short.

muse-asylum-2.jpgThe Muse Asylum by David Czuchlewski. OK, it’s out of print now, and maybe I shouldn’t mention it, b/c your library probably doesn’t even have it.  But it was a great mystery, a fascinating muse about identity, and if you’ve ever read Catcher in the Rye and just wondered about J.D. Salinger, well, you should read it.  I recommended it to a friend, and she came back to me, asking me for more recommendations.  I hadn’t seen her in a while, and when we met up again recently, she mentioned she had just re-read it, and said she thought Mark Ruffalo would be great in the lead role.  I agree.  This book got David Czuchlewski a nomination for the NY Public Library’s Young Lions Award its first year  just to pique your interest (Mark Danielewski won for House of Leaves that year.  No, I haven’t read it, but I’ve been tempted).

 ella-minnow-pea.jpgElla Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn.  My library had this shelved in the children’s section.  When I told them it wasn’t a children’s book, they were surprised.  They’d never read it, just shelved it according to a customer’s request.  I’m still scratching my head.  Not that it’s objectionable for children, but it’s an adult book.  Why hadn’t they read it, I wondered.  I love alphabets, I love word fun, I love this book.  Here’s what the The Philadelphia Inquirer said about it: “A curiously compelling . . . satire of human foibles, and a light-stepping commentary on censorship and totalitarianism.”  And the Dallas Morning Herald: “This exceptional, zany book will quickly make you laugh.”

littlejohn.jpgLittlejohn by Howard Owen.  When I bought this book, the price of a hardcover was dear to me.  I looked at it in the independent bookstore by my laundromat for three weeks before I splurged.  I took it on an airplane, and I cried.  It’s not like me.  I don’t often laugh out loud when I read, or cry, or whatev.  And to cry in public?  While reading?  On an airplane when there’s no way to play cool?  I couldn’t help myself.  I fell in love with Littlejohn.

 history-of-love-2.jpgThe History of Love by Nicole Krauss.  I’m sure you’ve read this, so I’m not going to mention it.  Don’t you love Leo Gursky?

Look at the list of (100) books below. Bold the ones you’ve read. Italicize the ones you want to read. Leave blank the ones that you aren’t interested in. (Movies don’t count.)

1. The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown)
2. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
3. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee) More than once.  I saw the movie when I was seven, and it entered my soul. 
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien) More than once. 
6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien) More than once. 
7. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien) More than once. 
8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10. A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling) More than once. 
12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
13. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling) More than once. 
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving) More than once. 
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Rowling) More than once. 
17. Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. The Stand (Stephen King)
19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling) More than once. 
20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien) More than once. 
22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger) More than once. 
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott) More than once. 
24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25 . Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
34. 1984 (Orwell)
35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley) I started this a million years ago.  It killed my devotion to the epic novel.  Dead. ETA: Wait, I’m sorry, I was thinking of The Far Pavilions by M.M.Kaye.
36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett) I’m listing this as read, but I’m reading it now.  Audiobooks count.
37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant) I gave away my first copy of this book before I read it.  No, I won’t tell you why.
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. Bible Not the whole book, which you have to do to count it, IMO
46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens) More than once. 
53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. Great Expectations (Dickens)
55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
57. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling) More than once. 
58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger)
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63. War and Peace (Tolstoy)
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69. Les Miserables (Hugo)
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73. Shogun (James Clavell)
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith) More than once.
78. The World According To Garp (John Irving)
79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
81. Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. Emma (Jane Austen)
86. Watership Down (Richard Adams)
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields) I think I want to read it.  I change my mind alot.
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100. Ulysses (James Joyce)

 So, what, 39?  The husband has read 48, I think he said.  He says he was forced to read most of them in school, and is wondering why stranger-2.jpgStranger in a Strange Land by by Robert A. Heinlein  isn’t on the list, when there are so many scifi books.  No one made her read it, I guess.  Now, tell me, please, one of your favorite books that isn’t on this list.  What have you read that you loved?

4 thoughts on “The Oprah Made Me Read It

  1. Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder is one of my favorites… not so much for the storyline as for the overview of the history of philosophy. It’s was a weird good LOL

  2. I’ve read Stranger in a Strange Land and it was an excellent book. One that isn’t on the list and a series I thoroughly enjoyed was Terry Brooks’ “Magic Kingdom for Sale Sold”!

    Love your bargello!

  3. oh Stranger in a Strange Land was DH and my book when we first married .. he “made” me read it .. I fell in love with it .. we are “water brothers” *smile*

  4. I love History of Love so much I can’t finish it. I feel like I will be heartbroken when I finish. The dude thinks I am being very silly. I could read that opening paragraph and get the wind knocked out of me over and over again.

    I’ve been looking for Ella Minnow Pea for ages. Maybe I’ll have to put in an ILL request.

Leave a Reply

