Desiderata Monday, pt. 31

I didn’t get all my stuff done,  but I spent a lot of time with Desiderata anyway.  Sue me.

wip-01-28-08-425.jpg

Originally when I looked at the model picture of this part of the sampler, I thought the diamond motifs were different colors, or possibly Watercolors Cafe Au Lait.  Not so!  They are all stitched with the same color.  I think this row is a beautiful illustration of just how different a color can look, based on the density of the stitch used.  In this case, those stitches happen to be Rhodes, Satin, Queen, Eyelet. 

img_1104-3.jpg

Right now I’m wondering how a single queen stitch stitched over the same area, rather than four clustered together, would compare to the satin stitch.  All of these stitches were accomplished with a single strand of floss, as instructed.  Else, I’d’ve used 2 ply for the satin diamond, out of habit.  I do like how it looks, and the effect. 

 I’m going to go ponder the single queen stitch question.  I doubt I’ll actually stitch them.  Pondering is a useful way to spend a few minutes.  Enjoy your day!  🙂

4 thoughts on “Desiderata Monday, pt. 31

  1. I agree with you about the different color effects! Isn’t that neat? I love all those stitches and your work is absolutely incredible. Just turning your satin stitch from horizontal to vertical will produce a color change! I have so enjoyed your progress on this sampler.

  2. I am a regular visitor to see how your Desiderata is coming along – I love it! It makes me want to get my one out and start it….. You are so right about the colour of the thread changing with the stitches….thanks for posting such clear pictures. It will soon be finished at this rate!

    love Jackie x

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving me a nice comment! I’ve now found your blog and seen some of your fascinating projects; your queen stitches are impeccable! It’s fascinating to see the color difference of the same floss in various stitches. I’ll be back to check on your progress soon. 😀

Leave a Reply

