I can’t believe I stitched the whole thing

Le Printemps by Birds of a Feather, that is.  It took about three years to finish.  It was my first time stitching with overdyed floss, and it shows in some places.  I stitched it at a 90-degree angle to the way the fabric was cut.  How lucky am I that I stitched it on a too-big piece of fabric and didn’t completely run out of room?   However, the too-big piece of fabric played a part in my taking forever to stitch it.  I stitched this in hand, and my hands would cramp holding the fabric, leaving the piece susceptible to being ignored for stitching pieces that weren’t painful. 

 And then, I spilled coffee on it.  Just a couple drops, but it was enough to discourage me for a long time.  I went months without stitching on it.   How are you supposed to get coffee stains out of a piece you can’t get wet?  Rubbing alcohol, apparently.  It did work.  Mostly.  I still ended up with some dye running.  Just a bit.  I had to decide: UFO, or finish with the imperfections?  Cuz I for sure wasn’t going to start again!  I decided I needed to finish it.  Eh.  *shrug*  It’s a primitive sort of design.  It’s not a gift.  I can live with it.  There’s an ink stain on it, too.  I’m not telling where. 

Counting errors?  Oh, me, oh my, dozens.  The beauty of this sort of design is that is doesn’t matter if you’re off by one or two stitches here…and there…and there…oh, and there, too.  What this design needs is a spot where I can stitch, “I done my best.”  Hee. 😀

She’s done!  *clap, clap*  I love her.  And, oh darn!  I have to go to the LNS to have her framed. 😉

Le Printemps finished 10.07

Vitals:
Le Printemps by Birds of a Feather
Stitched as recommended: one over two with Weeks Dye Works threads on white 36-ct linen. 

4 thoughts on “I can’t believe I stitched the whole thing

  1. Well, I for one think this looks GREAT!! I can’t see ANY of the imperfections you’ve mentioned, so I think you were right to forge ahead and finish it. Fabulous!! Thanks for sharing it!

  2. Oh wow! Congrats on the finish! I really, really wanted to stitch this one and started but it got lost in a move and I never re-bought the chart. Fortunately I didn’t have that much stitched when I lost it. For some reason, this design reminds me of myself. Not that I have that waist (LOL!) but I think it’s more of a feeling…

Leave a Reply

