In Memoriam

Marianne Dolores Sanchez
9/13/62-5/24/01

m-425-pixels.jpg

She was my best friend.  She only lived 38 years.  She would have turned 45 this year.  I planned to finish this memorial crane mobile as a birthday present, but things didn’t work out that way.  I don’t guess she’d be upset over a one-month belated birthday present.   

The mobile is done, it’s hanging beside my bed.  There are 38 cranes, one for each birthday.  Each has a quote of some sort in it.  If you’re curious about them, you can find them here.  I also made 4 wishing stars for the mobile.  Because they’re paper, and wishing stars, after all, I wrote a little something in each of those.  They reflect what was on the iPod at the time more than anything else. I intend for the Memorial Crane page to eventually tell the mobile’s story, but I’m not up for that now.  Heh.  Don’t hold your breath.  If you want to read more, the story can be found in my “grief” category.

Here she is.  A little bit late, a little bit lopsided, but no less a labor of love.

11-mobile-completed-425.jpg

 Mrs. Wonderful suggested this be tagged “wonderfulness.”  With a name like Mrs. Wonderful, I believe she would know. 

m-and-t-groucho-100.jpg

6 thoughts on “In Memoriam

  1. Oh my… really beautiful. I love the fact that there are sentiments hidden inside and that the whole thing is like a big bundle of love hanging there 🙂

  2. Oh my, it is spectacular!!! Terri, you are truly a Best Friends 4ever and what a why to honor her. Thank you for sharing this with us. Hugs from the other T

  3. Amazing.
    I stumbled here somehow as I was looking for something to do with my hands as I grieve the loss of my partner, who had an affinity for origami papers. She was brilliantly artistic and did all kinds of things with them, but ironically, never origami. As I read the quotes, I felt as if I knew you and your friend, as well as a connection to you both. I smiled, cried, and laughed. What a beautiful work of art. Thank you SO very much for sharing it! You really touched me.

Leave a Reply

