Happy Birthday, M

happy-birthday-425.jpg

Today would have been my best friend, M’s, 45th birthday.  She died 6 years ago due to complications from her diabetes.  I’d hoped to have something finished to post here today, but it hasn’t worked out that way.  The days come quickly sometimes, don’t they?  Here’s a quick peek at the beginning of the project:img_0403.jpg

This isn’t the first time I’ve attempted this memorial project.  I’ve hit a few snags, and even though it appeared it was a permanent UFO, it wasn’t. 

Now, for stitchy-love Desiderata pictures!

wip-09-11-07-425.jpg

I loved working on the Rhodes stitch row.  Have I mentioned lately how much I love Wildflowers Cafe Au Lait?  Every time I’ve stitched with it in this sampler, the stitches have showed the beauty of the floss in slightly different ways, and I fall in love with it again.  I had some Murphy’s Law and going hurrier with this row.  Murphy’s Law: the floss was a jumbly mess and needed straightening.  That took a while.  I ended up separating all the floss, so now I have lots of single plies looped on a floss card.  The Hurrier I Go: after the ply-separating party, I started stitching away without first consulting the instruction page.  Heh.  Yeah.  I was supposed to use to plies of floss for the Rhodes stitches in this row.  Now, y’all know I’d rip it out and fix it.  I love doing Rhodes stitches, and I’m not in a deadline rush to get this project finished.  I didn’t frog.  I like it the way it is.  It’s delicate, and I think it shows off the beauty of the floss better than if I’d used 2 plies.  Happy Accident! *cheering* 

wip-09-11-07-rhodes-close-up-2-425.jpg

Can you see why I love working with this floss?  Just look at the way the colors change.  I think having a nearly skein-long length of floss to work with, instead of cutting a working length and using it up before cutting a new working length, really showed off the floss to its fullest advantage.  Another happy accident, thanks to Mr. Murphy. 😀

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, M

  1. You have me very curious as to what you are putting together. This is a wonderful way to remember your best friend 🙂

    Great job on the Rhodes Stitch! I do love that color. I might have to look it up 😉

  2. Wow, you have made so much progress, but more importantly, you are enjoying the process! Excellent work and the stitches AND threads are just beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

