Hamster love

When my son got hamsters for his b’day, I never dreamed the whole family would fall in love with them the way we have.  I can’t get over it.  The husband is forever wondering who loves the little guys more, me or the son.  

When we bought them, I sort of knew they were a male and a female, but didn’t think about it.  On the one hand, there was denial (of future offspring).  On the other hand, I wanted babies (if I’m honest).  They warm my heart.  In two, short weeks, they’ve gone from being creepy to flat-out adorable.  They’re difficult for me to photgraph, but I keep trying.

sparky-and-baby-12-days-425.jpg

Baby with Mum.

One of the best feelings in the world is a baby hamster’s paws on your fingers, looking for its share of apple, or carrot, or oat, since its littermate just got some.  Such a delicate sensation, delivering joy.

We held a couple of them for the first time this morning.  I was worried the mum would panic, but she didn’t bat an eye. I’d bore you with more pics, but WordPress is being disagreeable right now. Besides, it’s near impossible to capture the cuteness factor in photos.

On the stitching front, we went to IKEA to browse for bedroom furniture for the boy yesterday, and I didn’t get to stitch at all.  I did work on my DMC floss re-organizing project.  I mention it only b/c it was a consolation for me to at least do something stitchy. heh.

And, and, the boy started middle school today!  Oh, the milestones.  

2 thoughts on “Hamster love

Leave a Reply

