Desiderata Monday, pt. 18

Well, one of the baby hamsters wandered away from the nest this morning!  Still blind, and I’m not sure exactly what it was looking for.  I assume it was first looking for Mom, and then just wanted to get home.  When Mom discovered the pup, she tossed it on its back to nurse it, but it wasn’t interested.  Mom was confused by all of it.  I’m sure she had no idea Baby had wandered.  Baby moseyed over toward Dad, who promptly ran away.  Mom has given Dad What-For several times for sticking his nose into her nest, and now he’s learned his lesson and is afraid of his pups.  I feel so sorry for the poor, harrassed papa.  Sorry for the blurry pic; he wouldn’t sit still for a proper pose. 😉

runaway-pup-08-29-07-300.jpg

Nine-day-old runaway pup

I worked on Desiderata on Monday and Tuesday this week.  I thought I owed it to myself.  Plus, the next band is a row of Rhodes stitches in the beautiful Waterlilies Cafe Au Lait, and I didn’t want to wait another week to get started on that.  I love stitching with that color so much.  So, since I know you’re looking for pictures, I’ll upload them for you. 🙂

wip-08-28-07-425.jpg

I really enjoyed stitching the foliage stitches on the right.  They’re sort of one-strand satin stitches.  Very pretty and fun to stitch.  Here’s some close-ups–

   

wip-08-28-07-foliage-close-225.jpg    wip-08-28-07-foliage-close-close-250.jpg

2 thoughts on “Desiderata Monday, pt. 18

  1. Your Desiderata is lovely! I just scrolled through all of your Des. posts to see your progress… this is one of my all-time favorite pieces 🙂

  2. What a cutie :o) We had one hamster when DH and I were first married. We called him Harry (the Houdini) because he got out a lot. He also had a squeeky wheel that DH hated!

    Great progress Terri :o)

Leave a Reply

