Random Act of Kindness

Yesterday was a busy day.  The boy left for school out the front door.  Unexpectedly, there was a knock at the back door.  A neighbor had locked herself out of her house, and chose my house to beg for a phone to call a locksmith.  After she left, the UPS truck delivered a table I ordered.  I opened it after the husband left for work.What was I thinking???  When I noticed it was on sale, I impatiently bought it.  It didn’t work.  I used to know it wouldn’t work.   After I managed to pull it out of the box, I learned it truly wouldn’t work.  I wanted to cry.  I  didn’t want to think about packing the thing back up, and getting it shipped back for return.  I decided to try a spot upstairs.  It works.  <shrug>  It’s not what I wanted there, but it beats returning the table.  And it works.  I can be comfortable with it. 

While I was staring at the table after struggling to get it upstairs, the doorbell rang again.  It was the Fed Ex guy.  I ignored him, involved as I was in my staring and fretting.  When I went downstairs, I found the shades for my bedroom.  Yay.  I have lived with an obnoxious color in my bedroom and bathroom for four years.  I made a huge mistake.  They’re expensive, you have to live with those mistakes for awhile.  

gift-from-jay.jpg

I went to the grocery store.  When I came back, there was more stuff on my porch: the bathroom shades and a box from Amazon.com.  It was bigger than I expected.  My friend Jay had asked me if my wishlist was current.  So, I was expecting a no-occasion gifty.  I expected a CD.   I got a CD. <nod>  And a movie that had come up in a recent conversation.  And a book on OZ.  I love OZ.  And an origami book (very advanced stuff in that book, what beauties).  And a cross-stitch book! <squee!>  Origami and Cross-Stitch from my knitty friend.  <swoon> 

For my cross-stitch geeky friends, I give you this eye candy:

cross-stitch-book-cover.jpg   cross-stitch-book-pic.jpg  cross-stitch-book-pic-2.jpg  cross-stitch-book-pic-3.jpg

A wonderful, unexpected surprise.  Thank you, Jay, from the bottom of my heart.

One thought on “Random Act of Kindness

Leave a Reply

