Hummingbird Sampler

I’m in a blogging slump. It’s not that I don’t have anything to say, I just don’t feel like taking the time to say it once I sit at the computer. It’s a shame, really, especially when it comes to this project, because there’s so much to tell. First, the important stuff: the finished sampler, stitched in my mother’s honor.

Hummingbird Sampler 10.11

My mother lost her battle with breast cancer in 2006. She would have been 73 this month. She loved hummingbirds. And geraniums. I had a plan for stitching this sampler and a small geranium piece I saw in a magazine somewhere, and having them framed with my favorite snapshot of her. Then I learned that the hibiscus I thought was pinkish was purple. When I started stitching the sampler I discovered that my plan for stitching the flower in a pink color wouldn’t work with the dyelot of overdyed floss I had. Which is just as well, as I had already succumbed to stubbornness in the face of my trouble with numbers and had to abandon my original framing idea. See, this is a counted needlepoint chart, meant to be stitched on 18-ct canvas. I reasoned that 18-ct is 18-ct, so I can stitch it on whatever fabric/canvas I choose. This is true, except: many motifs in this design are stitched over 2, and as we know, over 2 on 18-ct = 9-ct. I say we know this. I know this because I stitched this on 36-ct. fabric and ended up with a sampler that is much smaller than I planned, what with 36-ct stitched over 2 being 18-ct, not, um, 9-ct. Oh, yes, I could have stopped stitching and waited until I had the proper size fabric/canvas, but there was that stubbornness trait I mentioned earlier. I was supposed to be 5-3/8″ by 8-1/4″. It’s not. It’s tiny.

See? So tiny! It’s adorable and tiny, as is the hummingbird. So, good. Except that durn not being pink thing. I like purple, I do. I didn’t expect purple, and now I’m all unsure. That and because it’s tiny I’m  fiddling with the idea of adding a pulled/drawn thread border to it. I can’t decide. By the way, this is what I was expecting:

See what I mean? Pink flower. Very rainbow-y overdyed floss. NOT.

Vitals:
Hummingbird Sampler by Rainbow Gallery designed by J.R. Patterson & Pam Miller
Stitched over 2 on 36-ct white linen with RG Bravo! A119 (boquet), RG Splendor S812 (dark lavender) and S808 (med purple), RG Flair F502 (white), and Kreinik #4 very fine braid, color #032 (pearl).

Still, it’s beautiful, and I do love it, in spite of the troubles, uncertainty and hair loss. Here we have fun close-ups, for fun.

Happy Stitching! :)

4 thoughts on “Hummingbird Sampler

  1. I prefer your color choices to the original. Not that I think the original is actively horrible or anything; I do think the darker colors are much more appropriate. Hummingbirds ought to be jewel-toned, not all pastely! (I think I just made up a word there….)

  2. I think I like yours better. I like the colors, which when condensed like this are more dramatic. You did a good job and the piece is lovely. Serendipity at work again?

Leave a Reply

